PMI Global News

PMI Hardship Provision

PMI’s hardship provision is available to any member who becomes unemployed.

Breaking News: PMIAA Has Been Signed!

President Obama has signed the Program Management Improvement and Accountaility Act of 2015 (PMIAA)!  Click here to read more about it.

PMI - The PMIAA Passes by U.S. Senate!

The Program Management Improvement and Accountability (PMIAA) was unanimously passedNovember 30, 2016 by the U.S. Senate.  The Legislation to improve program management practices and bolster workforce development will now go to President Obama for his signature

You can read about it here!

Important News: 2015 Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program

Effective December 1, 2015, PMI will be updating the CCR program to ensure PMI Credential holders are equipped to remain relevant in a continually changing business environment.

The upcoming changes will require Credential holders to focus their learning in the areas of technical project management skills, leadership skills, and strategic and business management skills to better align with the employer-identified skills depicted in the PMI Talent Triangle.

The new CCR program will continue to require you to earn and submit 60 professional development units (PDUs) for PMP, PgMP, PfMP and PMI-PBA (or 30 PDUs for PMI-ACP, PMI-RMP or PMI-SP) over a three-year cycle. You will be required to earn a minimum number of education PDUs among employer-identified skill sets. The system will also give you the flexibility to determine what is most relevant for your development among the employer-identified skill sets. In addition to earning traditional education PDUs, credential holders will still have the opportunity to earn PDUs by giving back to the profession through: using their skills as a practitioner and volunteering; creating knowledge; and working as a professional.

Depending on the expiration date of your credential certification cycle, there are different renewal requirements for the Education and Giving Back categories:

Beginning 1 December 2015

Certification Expiration Date:

1 December 2015 – 30 November 2017

1 December 2017 and Beyond

Classify PDUs according to new CCR format.



Meet minimum number of PDUs in Education category and each of the three skill areas. This is required for renewal.



Limit Giving Back Category PDUs to new maximum requirement.



*Compliance with the new format is encouraged, but not mandatory to renew during the current cycle. In future cycles, the new CCR program requirements must be satisfied to maintain active certification status.

To support the upcoming changes, PMILIC Professional Development events including our monthly Chapter Meetings will be focused on the three main focus areas of the PMI Talent Triangle with equal attention. This will provide the best opportunity for those attending these events and Chapter Meetings to attain the minimum requirements for Education PDUs.

See FAQs for any questions regarding the upcoming updates.

Stay Informed!